Skip to content
February 20, 2012 / Nikhil Jain

“I want that India back” (New version)


Hi everybody! This poem will be going to rock India’s youth. I have recomposed this poem as I found the title great and inspiring.
Are you ready to hear this poem? Lets read…

The Golden Bird
with rich culture,
Widely heard
for its treasure,
Remembered for
Great kings & great saints,
who took birth
on that land,
That dignity,
That greatness,
Now,where is that?
“I want that India back”

Rulers and dynasties
came and went,
But no one
too long remained,
Found defeated
and turned away,
Against its unity
and “Satyagraha”,
That brotherhood,
That equality,
Can anyone return me that?
“I want that India back”

The relation
of teacher and student,
For which
famous was my land,
where youth
became inspiration,
And followed truth
away from corruption,
That zeal,
That spirit,
Youth can only return that,
“I want that India back”

About the Poem-

In this poem, I tried to describe the need and importance of that greatness of India in modern times. In the poem,as a leader I told people to awake and youth to return me that India back.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Malena / Feb 20 2012 11:47 AM

    Nikhil, I liked the idea of your first poem. Now with your revised poem I absolutely love it, and I feel you have a lot to say… the poem gives a feeling of more to come. Well done!🙂

    • Nikhil Jain / Feb 29 2012 10:03 AM

      Thanx sister and sorry for the late reply. This comment was in spam and due to unchecking,it remained there for many days but today when I check it I found your comment which delighted me a lot…

  2. welshabba / Feb 21 2012 5:20 PM

    Great stuff! People everywhere can relate to the feelings expressed in your poem.

    • Nikhil Jain / Feb 21 2012 7:11 PM

      Thanks Sir….I like your comment…

  3. The Narcissist / Feb 29 2012 1:02 PM

    You write awesome poetry dude

    • Nikhil Jain / Feb 29 2012 1:05 PM

      Thanx sir!

  4. Mohinee Puranik / Aug 30 2012 2:56 PM

    Namaste Nikhil, I am so sorry for the late reply, but some time limits kept me engaged. Very inspiring and full of zeal, what a wonderful and true composition. Simply loved it. Keep writing, our country need youth like you…:) Thank you for being part of Gurukripa’s poetry contest, though contest was closed, I am really happy to see your poems.🙂

    • Nikhil Jain / Sep 5 2012 2:47 PM

      Thanx for visiting…

Leave a Reply

