Skip to content
March 14, 2012 / Nikhil Jain

Poem: ” I am Untouchable” ( A Biography )


Back again with a new poem, wish that you will like this.
Here it is…

I was told
to be away
from my friends
said they
I was told
you can’t play
you can’t dream
you can’t learn
you can’t walk
even you can’t scream
I was punished
for the mistake
I had not done
I was taught
the lesson
which I read
at once
A single smile
was very precious
for me
at that time
for only to see
I was pinched
I was scared
I was pained
I was speared
But couldn’t blare
they rebuffed me
from time to time
simply by saying
“I am Untouchable”

About the Poem-

In this poem, I have tried to describe the worst conditions of untouchable and the arisen feelings in them.
Today in India, where there is unity on one side, there is also discrimination in citizens due to caste,race,religion etc. I know India is great and I’m proud of it but the worst condition of poor and untouchables is hiding its greatness. So today we need people to respect poor and untouchable instead of behaving like strangers.
Through this poem,I also have tried to introduce people to untouchable.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. claudia / Mar 14 2012 11:55 PM

    uhg…so hard..being the untouchable…having to stay away..hurts…makes me even more sad as you title it a biography..

    • Nikhil Jain / Mar 16 2012 12:47 PM

      Yes mam! Its very hard to live a life of untouchable…. Thanx mam for your comment!!!

  2. brian miller / Mar 15 2012 12:47 AM

    ugh…what a hard life to never know the touch of another…that would be brutal and hard to know what love is….

    • Nikhil Jain / Mar 16 2012 12:49 PM

      Ya, I agree with you sir…..thanx:-)

  3. Anthony Desmond / Mar 15 2012 5:29 AM

    wow, great poem… very sad as well… the power of discrimination is much too bold….

    • Nikhil Jain / Mar 16 2012 12:50 PM

      Thanx sir for commenting and I’m glad to know that you liked this:-)

  4. shamsud (@shamsud) / Mar 15 2012 9:14 PM

    Nice write….clearly depicted. Thank you for sharing

    • Nikhil Jain / Mar 16 2012 12:51 PM

      Thanx to you sir for visiting my blog:-)

  5. priya / Feb 18 2016 10:33 PM

    Nice poem yar. mujhe aap k ya poem bhout achha laga.

Leave a Reply

