Skip to content
March 17, 2012 / Nikhil Jain

“A rabbit at my home”


This poem is dedicated to my late little rabbit and my sister.
Here it is…

Once I had a rabbit
at my home
which my sister brought
from her friend’s farm,
had white hairs
and eyes red,
made it look like
a white ted,
Naughty,pretty
Happy and sad,
some good habits
while some were bad,

A cardboard box was
decided for that homeless,
to be gifted when
nowhere left space,
and it let off
we ran after,
all its moves
caused us laughter,
but that happiness
not remained for long
and one day
something happened wrong,

It was dark
at the night
when everything
was out of sight,
A black cat
like hungry fox
smelt rabbit’s presence
in that box,
didn’t wait
for little more,
entered and attacked
as a tidal bore,

That little rabbit
innocent and unaware,
didn’t know,
what was happening there?
Everything was happened
very very fast
but it didn’t give up
and fought till the last,
But was defeated
from that cruel cat,
Might it was
God’s wish or its fate!

I and my sister
found very sad,
Tears on eyes
when made them wet,
Nothing was left
for a mourning
And the very very
next morning,
remained only memories
when it had gone
and that sweet image
left me alone.

About the Poem-

The above poem describes the whole incident of my childhood when I had my little rabbit with me.
Wish that you will enjoy this.

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. claudia / Mar 18 2012 1:06 PM

    oh my…what a nightmare..the poor rabbit…so sorry…think it took you a while to get over it..

    • Nikhil Jain / Mar 18 2012 1:22 PM

      Yes mam, it was very hard to forget that incident….truly missing my late little rabbit.

  2. brian miller / Mar 18 2012 5:15 PM

    awww this made me sad, but then again a warning too for when we try to box in nature as well…i had a frog as a pet for some time and the pups got him…was a sad day…he is buried outside the window at my parents home…

  3. Nikhil Jain / Mar 18 2012 5:40 PM

    Ohh so sad sir….I think you will be missing your frog.

  4. zongrik / Mar 18 2012 9:10 PM

    it seems like you never got over it.

    if it makes you feel better, when rabbits know they are about to go through the pain of the kill, they seem to go into shock, so they don’t feel anything. i’ve seen this in the wild. my dog chases rabbits and caught one once and i was so surprised at how painlessly it died. it did horrify me, but it was nice to know, they seem to have this mechanism. a nice thing for prey.

    unfortunately, worse things happen to rabbits. and humans are the ones who do it.

    red eyed white rabbits

    • Nikhil Jain / Mar 18 2012 9:36 PM

      Thanx sir but I can’t forget it….truly missing it.

  5. Herotomost / Mar 21 2012 9:42 PM

    Great tribute to a passing friend….its one of the ways we cope. Nice work.

    • Nikhil Jain / Apr 4 2012 12:54 AM

      Thanx Herotomost

  6. Mariya Koleva / Mar 22 2012 4:25 PM

    Oh, I’m so sorry for the rabbit. Anyways, it’s a very enjoyable poem and I think that, given a touch here and there, it could turn into a charming nursery rhyme (leaving all the gruesome facts out, of course). Well-written
    Best, M.

    • Nikhil Jain / Apr 4 2012 12:55 AM

      Thanx mam!

  7. Margaret / Mar 22 2012 9:33 PM

    Oh… so horrible.. but that is the nature of a cat, which itself is often a victim to bigger animals. Makes one ponder…

    • Nikhil Jain / Apr 4 2012 12:56 AM

      Ya…I agree with you but losing someone who is very near to you is a very sadly moment.

  8. Hannah Gosselin / Mar 24 2012 8:38 PM

    Traumatic indeed, captured well!

    • Nikhil Jain / Apr 4 2012 12:57 AM

      Thanx mam!!

Trackbacks

  1. Poem: “Little dear friend” (Prompt: “Erasure”) | Nikhil's Poems

Leave a Reply

