Skip to content
April 16, 2012 / Nikhil Jain

“Walls and Fences” (A Sonnet)


This is a sonnet based on Walls and Fences and in iambic pentameter with my invented rhythm a a,b b,c c,d d,e e,f g,f g.
Ya, you heard right….I’ve invented something. It is a sonnet rhythm. I will tell you whole story behind this invention.
But first enjoy the sonnet.

World is broken into thousand pieces
separated by the walls and fences,
whose society believe in bad blood
between their men covered with selfish mud,
Walls and Fences of religion,caste and creed
which every morning,they water this seed,
Should be splitted and broken forever
so peace in this world will remain ever
Views of superstitious old tradition
should be eradicated for nation,
with brotherhood and mutual harmony
To us,the unity will be a flare,
which give freedom from the thought of money,
Walls and Fences will be nowhere.

14/30 NaPoWriMo 30/30

About the Poem

This is a sonnet in iambic pentameter with rhythm a a,b b,c c,d d,e e,f g,f g as I told you above.

Story behind invention of Rhythm-

When I started writing a sonnet then first I started with Shakespeare’s Sonnet’s rhythm and you will not believe me that it took half a day to me to think over it and to visit it deeply. Then I found another issue and that was iambic pentameter. When I searched this term on google to know about it then I found that it consists of ten syllables but I also didn’t know syllables.
So I decided to start with syllables and then it took me whole day about iambic pentameter and how to write a sonnet. Then while wandering I described my own rhythm for my sonnets. I wanted to name it so I named this NJ’s Sonnets.
You will be thinking that how mad I’m! But I like to name my inventions and thats one of the things which inspires me to invent and to write more and more…

Wish that you liked this….I’m waiting for your comments, let me know,how is my invention?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Malena / Apr 16 2012 5:20 AM

    AmAzing Poem! the work you put into this poem was sure worth it, brother poet! I can learn a lot from you.

    • Nikhil Jain / Apr 16 2012 12:34 PM

      Thanx sis….and I too learnt many things from a sonnet…

Trackbacks

  1. How to Write Ten-by-Ten Poems by Eighty Six the Poet « alchemyofscrawl

Leave a Reply

