Skip to content
April 27, 2012 / Nikhil Jain

“My Old Friend” (Elegy)


This is mourning poem dedicated to a person who was very special to me.

I remember that day
when I saw you last time,
and your last words
that echoes in my ears and mind;
“Will you come here back
to visit me again?”
but I couldn’t answer you in haste
and couldn’t understand your pain;
But I tried to call you
to settle our this long fight,
In the search of hope
that everything would go alright,
Then I came to your home too
and I was at your door,
saw crowd surrounding you
and your body laid on the floor;
I understood that
you were angry with me,
But why so much?
that you didn’t talk with me even only once,

I was in extreme shock
and abushed myself bad
couldn’t believe, my old friend
That you are dead
Please be back as you were,
I agree that you have won,
but why like this,
you had left me alone?

26/30 NaPoWriMo 30/30

How is this poem? Please let me know by your comments…

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. stevehallsbooks / Apr 27 2012 5:12 PM

    Sad. Underlines the importance of communicating, forgiving, moving forward, protecting and maintaining your friendships. Once they are gone… it is too late.

    • Nikhil Jain / Apr 27 2012 5:20 PM

      Ya…you are right. And that time, we get understand the feeling of losing a friend when we don’t meet him.

  2. terry1954 / Apr 27 2012 10:02 PM

    so sad, i hope it is not a real thing going on in your life

    • Nikhil Jain / Apr 27 2012 10:27 PM

      If I knew that this would happen with me then I also would hope that It would not happen to me.
      Some lines are just my imagination but some are true.
      The lines which describe dispute between me and my old friends is not true…its my imagination. But the first line is true that I saw him last time that day.
      And in my every poem, I combine my imagination and reality into a creation like this poem.
      Thanx for being here….

Leave a Reply

